Educational Awards


Dr. Jessica Perchaluk

Each year the Philadelphia Region Fieldwork & Capstone Consortium, comprised of the occupational therapy practitioner degree programs from Gwynedd-Mercy University, Harcum College, Salus University. Temple University, Stockton University, Thomas Jefferson University: Bucks. Center City, and East Falls, The University of the Sciences, and Widener University bestow the Fieldwork & Capstone Educator of the Year award to either a group of practitioners representing a larger organization, or an individual practitioner.

Typically, the site or organization which is chosen to receive this award has demonstrated a commitment to fieldwork education by developing a rigorous and well-planned learning program for Occupational Therapy practitioner students. The commitment to fieldwork & capstone education is demonstrated by committing staff to act as educators and supervisors, by providing opportunities for staff to maintain their skills as fieldwork & capstone educators, and by approving opportunities for OT practitioner students from the consortium's academic programs.

The award is given annually at the Consortium's Clinical Council Day, based on a nomination made within the Consortium's member institutions. The award winners, beginning in 1996, are listed below. Join us in applauding their contribution to OT student practitioner education.

Past Winners of The Fieldwork & Capstone Educator of the Year Award.

2022 Bancroft
2021 Sherre Freed | Golden Rehabilitation & Nursing Center
2020 SEPTA
2019 Bucks County Intermediate Unit #22
2018 Susan Connor
2017 Laura Boyle-Nester & Elyse Veni  |  Austills
2016 Health South
2015 Genesis Rehab Services
2014 Nova Care Rehabilitation of Southern NJ & Southeast PA
2013 Inglis House
2012 Kera McHale | Arc of Chester County
2011 Good Shepherd Penn Partners Rehabilitation
2010 Kera McHale | Burlington County Special Services School District
2009 Fox Rehabilitation Services
2008 Delaware County Intermediate Unit
2007 Temple University Hospital
2006 Ann Klein Psychiatric Hospital Forensic Unit
2005 Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
2004 Verena Taussig | Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
2003 Magee Rehabilitation Hospital
2002 Delaware County Intermediate Unit
2001 Joseph Campbell | Woods Services
2000 Moss Rehabilitation Hospital
1999 Pauline Bagnall | Kendal-Crosswinds
1998 Theresa Hansens (Dunleavy) | Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
1997 Nancy Beck | Belmont Hospital
1996 Thomas Jefferson University Hospital

Updated Feb 25, 2024

2022 Recipient

2021 Recipient
Sherre Freed

2020 Recipient

2019 Recipient
Bucks County Intermediate Unit #22

2018 Recipient
Dr. Susan Connor

2017 Recipient
Austills Laura Boyle-Nester & Elyse Veni

2015 Recipient
Genesis ehab Services

Philadelphia Region Occupational Therapy Fieldwork & Capstone Consortium